China

Like most mornings, I woke this morning tangled up between my boys. As we stirred, drifting towards consciousness together, Sebastian said, “Mommy, where are we going today?”

“Nowhere, baby,” I mumbled. He was quiet, and burrowed around a bit. His little feet dug around between my legs, heat-seeking.

“Mommy,” he asked, “What do girls have?” Ah, 3, when every possible moment is a moment to embark on a conversation about the difference between boys and girls. At least this one was taking place in private.

“Girls have a vagina,” I mumbled.

“What do boys have?”

“Boys have a penis.” He was quiet for a bit.

“Yeah, girls have a ‘gina. Just like my story.” My ears perked up. Just like his story?

“What story, baby?”

“Knuffle Bunny!” Now, I don’t know when the last time you read Knuffle Bunny was, but it certainly does NOT have anything to do with human anatomy. Then it came to me. Knuffle Bunny Free, in which Knuffle Bunny is left behind on the plane and heads for…

“Do you mean China, baby?”

“Yeah, China!”

This is one for the baby book.

10 thoughts on “China

  1. So funny and innocent and he’s making connections from literature to life! Who knew Knuffle Bunny could be so informative?!? Thanks for giving me something to smile about today.

  2. You had me hooked from the very beginning. I connected to the “heat-seeking” feet right away. Then, with his first question, I found myself blushing and then completely curious about what he had heard in your conversation that I had not. Amazing way to capture this moment. I don’t usually LOL, but this one had me rolling.

  3. This is so funny! Just love the spare way in which you captured this very sweet exchange! Those were always the words that my kids would want to say out loud in church!! What a great memory!

  4. Oh my gosh. I love this. I wake up to my kids all snuggled in too, most mornings… and those snuggly conversations are the best. I love that my boys aren’t the only ones constantly interested in all the parts of the body! And I love the ending – this made me laugh.

Leave a Reply

