15 Lessons

Halfway through, here are 15 lessons I’ve learned so far from this year’s SOL.

1. It’s harder to take on a challenge in some ways, when you already know you’re capable of finishing it.

2. On good days, all is good – the writing, the parenting, the work; on bad days, all are crummy.

3. I’ve been leaning heavily on structure and “gimmicky” ideas, and loving what they allow me to reveal – in short order.

4. Looking into the notebooks of other writers is priceless inspiration.

5. Commenting inspires me to lift the level of my own writing.

6. I write best when I don’t have a lot of time. This long afternoon that I could devote to writing feels too boundless and unstructured.

7. Writing goes better with a cup of tea next to you, whether you drink it or not.

8. It’s really easy to default to humor and frustration when you know you’re going to be read – honesty is much harder.

9. Candy Crush and Buzzfeed are the death of my writing.

10. People think I’m a superhero for writing this much – but this is what we ask our kids to do every day!

11. It’s really hard to write without swearing. And I feel like this is semi-professional, so I’m trying not to swear. It’s really hard.

12. What they say about our having little writing tics is true – I’m discovering certain of you that I can always rely on for a poem, for a story about your family, for a funny memory.

13. Crossing off “blog” on the to-do list is one of the most satisfying “cross-offs” of the day.

14. Writing daily, as hard as it is, is a lot easier than writing occasionally. All that rust begins to wear off.

AND, of course,

15. I am not a robot (sorry, blogspot friends, I tease because I love!)

7 thoughts on “15 Lessons

  1. These are great insights, and I really appreciate all the insight you have given me. I can always count on your sweet posts on my writing, and at least once, that is what kept me going. I agree about humor being easier than more serious issues. I am having a hard time with the time to think through that type of writing. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I agree! Until I have crossed off my daily blog, I can’t get my mind off it. The most frustrating part for me is that I have only had one day when I knew the night before what my topic would be the next day. I really appreciate all your kind words. You have motivated me to keep trying.

  3. I love all of these! Yes times 15! It’s good to be reflective in this way and I love the one about how commenting inspires you to up your writing game. That IS how I feel when I read your slices… My last two blog posts were fueled by m&m’s and vodka. I don’t know if that’s funny or way too honest.

Leave a Reply

