Form before Function?

It’s late tonight, and I’ve just celebrated my sister-in-law’s birthday at our house, just our families – 11 people from 6 weeks right on up to close-ish to 60 years. I’m full of cake, but not ideas, and I want to write!

I was charmed the other day when I read one of you fine slicers using a “BEFORE THAT” slice – and I’ve totally forgotten who it was, so now I have to just borrow without credit. If you happen to read this – thank you – and credit yourself! My colleague over at erikaloularson.wordpress.com (read her, she’s lovely!) also used a fun structure tonight, so I’m carrying on in her tradition, too.

RIGHT NOW, I’m scavenging leftover cake off my three-year-old’s plate, ostensibly because I don’t want him to eat anymore, but more likely because I do

BEFORE THAT, I was helping herd 7 people out the door, 7 people who still feel like new family to me, though I’ve been with them for more than 10 years

BEFORE THAT, I was celebrating my sister-in-law’s birthday, in a house full of food, presents, cake, people, noise, and love

BEFORE THAT, I was watching my son perform an impromptu puppet show at school, which bore more resemblance to Punch and Judy than I expected – but I got to give it to him, the kid knows his audience

BEFORE THAT, I was working with a team full of first grade teachers, all brand new teachers, who dazzle me with their skill, professionalism, and ease with putting their practice out there on display

BEFORE THAT, I was warm and toasty in bed, penned in by little bodies, but ready for the day.

4 thoughts on “Form before Function?

  1. This structure is great. I’m filing it away to try on. Sounds like a full day and I’d love to see the puppet show. Maybe you can reenact it at work one of these days. I’ll even supply the puppets.

  2. I like it! I saw a post where a teacher was showing her kids how to use a list to document a routine– such as a “getting ready in the morning routine”. It obviously goes chronologically forward. I like how this takes a “looking back” viewpoint. I also love that you used the word “ostensibly”– it was a perfect fit and made me smile. That’s not a word we get to use too often! Nice work– hope you don’t mind if I “borrow” your borrowed strategy!

Leave a Reply

