Failure

“Tomorrow I add Monday to my running routine!” I told G first thing on Sunday, over coffee.

“I’m going to get up at 6 and run tomorrow,” I told G over lunch.

“I’m putting my clothes in the hall so I’ll be already to sneak out early tomorrow,” I told G as we got into bed.

This morning, at 6, the alarm went off. The rain poured outside. It was dark, so much darker than its been. It was early, so much earlier than its been.

I shut the alarm off. I told myself, “In three minutes, you will get out of bed.” And for three minutes I talked to myself, devil and angel.

This is the first Monday you’re going to run! But why on earth did I schedule it for the Monday after DST?

You’ll feel great when you get going. It’s really dark. And rainy. Really rainy.

Don’t give up – you’ve been doing great on your training runs. I need to make sure I’m well-rested. And this Monday was really an artibrary start date. If I feel up to it, I can always run this evening before dinner. G’s picking up the kids anyhow. You’ll probably wake up little S if you get up now.

I turned the alarm back on, set 45 minutes later.

Much better.

6 thoughts on “Failure

  1. I love the repetition. I love the angel and devil comment. I do this every morning when my work-out alarm goes off. And it was really dark out this morning. Tomorrow’s another day!

  2. The rain would have been a deal breaker for me. And the time change made it difficult for me to get going. Tomorrow will give you another opportunity to make it happen.

  3. I believe it is only temporary. You will get up and run. There is only so much a girl can take. Cold, dark and rainy….your intent was there but your common sense reminded you that there is another morning Tuesday!
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

