10 Things I Love About You: The Elder

N, My Peanut, on this day:
1. I love that when you go to bed at night, you ask me how many kisses I want, and then always add a bonus.

2. I love that you don’t see the world as divided into things for boys and things for girls. I love that your favorite color is pink, you paint your nails, and name girls as your best friends at school.

3. I love that you have brought your civil rights knowledge home from school and hold spontaneous protests around the living room. “No ride buses! No ride buses!”

4. I love that you are figuring out spelling, and that you’re enjoying spelling, and going on spelling parades with yourself.

5. I love that when you wondered what you might be when you grow up, your first thought was, “A daddy.”

6. I love that you call Shredded Spoonfuls, Spreaded Foonshuls.

7. I love that you have balanced your spirit of want with a spirit of gratitude. When you thanked me for your new raincoat and pajamas today, you took my breath away.

8. I love the joy you take in the unusual. “We weren’t expecting that to happen!”

9. I love that you share with your brother – your time, your things, your parents, your laughter.

10. I love that you are doing your best to self-monitor your need to call everything poo-poo. I’ll love it more when you stop doing it, but I love hearing you say, “Oops, erase!” and try again when you do.

 

5 thoughts on “10 Things I Love About You: The Elder

  1. Oh my gosh, I love number 5! What I get from that is that he has an awesome example of what it means to be a daddy. Unfortunately, not everyone gets that in their lives. How wonderful for your family! 🙂

  2. A beautiful letter to your son. I hope you’ll share these with him when he’s older. Your love for him comes out loud and clear. I love #10. That boy humor is something to be reckoned with. 🙂

Leave a Reply

