Eleanor & Park

Two weekends ago now, I read the lovely, lovely book “Eleanor & Park” – and if you haven’t read it, please, stop reading this post, and go get started. Everything about it touched my heart, the experiences in it both completely foreign and entirely relatable. I gorged on it, stealing moments to read a chapter here and there, finishing it in a weekend.

Which was all well and good, but now I find myself unable to appreciate anything else I try. I read “Stargirl” – which was definitely a solidly Good Book – but I couldn’t help longing for Eleanor’s brand of weirdness every time Stargirl spoke. I’ve started “Paper Towns”, and I can tell it’s going to be great, but I’m feeling the words wash over me instead of taking root. I’d better set it aside until Eleanor and Park have died down a bit in my heart.

I can’t help but feeling a bit miffed at those two – leave it to a book to ruin me for reading!

Maybe some non-fiction…

9 thoughts on “Eleanor & Park

  1. I, too, was blown away by Eleanor & Park”. I listened to it in my car and there were days I didn’t want tot leave my car. I had to read & listen to things that were radically different for a while afterwards.

  2. I apologize, but I did not stop reading your post even though I have never read “Eleanor & Park” – but your writing has convinced me to seek out this book! I love your line: “I can’t help but feeling a bit miffed at those two – leave it to a book to ruin me for reading!” I have felt this way after some very precious books – where you can’t dare pick up another one for awhile, because the previous was so awesome. Thanks for sharing! Now, to “Eleanor & Park”!

  3. Oh, Eleanor & Park. I can’t even talk about how much I love this book. It’s written on my insides. Fangirl was amazing – very different from E&P, but beautiful. Ugh, that Rainbow Rowell. Too good.

  4. I’ve heard so many good things about this book. I have a feeling that SOL is going to give me lots of ideas for books to read over spring break. 🙂 Your post definitely makes me want to read it.

  5. Oh, I’ve had this happen to me. I get a book in my hand where the writing amazes me, the story engages me and I quote lines. Then I try to find another book and I find that I must wait until my heart has absorbs and process all the wonderfulness of the book.
    It will happen you will find another book.

Leave a Reply

